Shannon's First Web Page

I am a student at California State University, Fullerton who is conducting my first study over the internet. My first step is to learn how to create a web page and then enter my study onto a web browser. I hope this to be a huge success and I look forward to your input when participating in my study. The study is entitled:

Regretting Actions vs. Inactions

I am sure before you participate in my study, you would like to know a little bit about myself, the researcher. Here is some information about my Educational background and future plans:

I am currently a senior at California State University, Fullerton and I am now taking my final courses for my degree. I plan to graduate with honors in May, 2000 and will be continueing as a post-bachelorett in the Fall. I plan on taking classes toward graduate school next year and studying for the Graduate Record Exam, while applying to graduate programs for the following year. My field of interest is in clinical or school psychology and I hope to get both a masters and a PsyD or PhD in the next 5 to 10 years.

As an undergraduate, I have had a lot of experience to prepare myself for graduate school. I am currently a member of 3 honor societies, The Golden Key National Honor Society, Psi Chi Honors Society, and Eta Sigma Freshman National Honors Society. In my junior year, I worked as the Chaiman for Psychology Department Student Association(PDSA) for 2 semesters. I was also the Vice President of Golden Key for 1 semester,as well as volunteering on campus to help with various projects for the Psychology Student Association. In addition, I have completed a year of research experience with Dr. Jenny Harrigan, a full-time professor at California State University, Fullerton, as well as having her as my internship professor for a year in the clinical field. I spent 11 months working on a crisis hotline in Orange County, where I learned the basic foundations of dealing with clients in crisis, setting boundaries, helping them establish goals, and learning to use the clinical skills I learned in Dr. Harrigan's class. After working at the hotline, I spent 4 months working for two, six-bed group homes, one a boy's home and the other a girl's home. There, I furthered my skills in setting boundaries and small goals with the kids, using behavior modification techniques, helping the kids work on homework and daily routine chores, and making sure that they felt safe in a healthy and comfortable environment. I have also voluteered at a chemical dependence hospital working for dual-diagnosis patients and continuing my skills as a practicing clinician.

With this experience and a 3.7 GPA, I hope to be accepted into a reputable program for clinical psychology or social work in the Soutern California area. If I do well on the GRE, I may try and apply to some PhD or PsyD programs, however, my mind is really focused on just getting my masters for right now. I would really like to get into San Diego State University's program for Social Work and move down to La Mesa, California within the next year or so. I am also going to be applying to a few other graduate schools, such as UCLA, Chapman University, Pepperdine, Claremont, etc. I am hoping I am able to get into a program that I will really enjoy and get the best clinical training in order to achieve my goals for what I want to accomplish. click here to go to Occupational/Career plans

Sigmond Freud's pictureFreud is my hero. Click on his picture to see WHY!

Click here to see what you do and do not know about psychology

Also, here is some information about my Occupational/Career Plans:

After I graduate this May, I plan on working as well as taking classes for the next year. I hope to get a job working for a Social Services County Agency working with abused kids. When I have a regular schedule established at a job this summer, I plan on working about 30 hours a week and taking 2 academic courses per semester next year. These classes will add to my transcripts for graduate school, as well as give me more experience so that I may look more reputable to a graduate program. I plan on doing some kind of research next year with a professor, as well as taking a few classes toward my graduate work.

My main goal as a career after I have earned my higher degrees of education are to work with abused kids in either a group home setting or private practice, as well as work on helping underprividged children prepare for college and set up of trust fund in order for them to do that. I would also like to eventually do some school counseling or teach as a professor at a Junior College or University, teaching introduction classes in Psychology and Child Abuse.

As you can see, I have a lot I want to accomplish, however, I feel that once I get through school and earned the degrees neccessary to do the work I want to do, I will be a major asset to society. I hope to make some small difference in at least one child's life someday, and see more kids in the foster care system succeed in college, instead of falling down the same path of negativity as their past has given them. click here to go to Educational Background and Future Plans

Now, I hope this information is helpful to you and you enjoy participating in this sample study. Thanks for your interest in this study and I hope to be available for questions if needed. You can reach me by clicking on the following link to my e-mail:

e-mail icon link Click on the spinning e-mail to send me something

To be linked to the imaginery study example, click below: click here to be linked to the experimental study